When you think you’ve found the love of your life…

26 04 2010

…take a road trip with them – just to be sure.    

Road trips have a certain way of revealing the good, the bad and the ugly.  John and I left for Indianapolis at 5:00 a.m. last Friday morning.  I had no idea what little road trip treats I was in for.  Naturally, after just four hours of sleep the night before, I was ready for a nice relaxing nap.  I had brought my snuggliest blanket for just that reason.   

By 6:00 a.m., I was well on my way to dreamland when John practically shouts, “you know what we need to get this party started?”  I look over and he’s waving his Blackberry around with Pandora lighting up the screen as he exclaims that a radio station playing exclusively Big Daddy Kane is exactly what we need to get this party started!  At 6:00 a.m.  No words.   

I drifted back off to sleep, interrupted only by John’s mocking commentary of his old school musical selections on Pandora (“You’re way too young to know about this – you’re just a little baby.”).  Despite all the musical antics, which included his personal version of car karaoke, John drove the whole 5-hour trip to Indianapolis and dropped me off at the nail salon rested, refreshed and right on time.  I got over the fact that I couldn’t get Big Daddy Kane out of my head for the next four hours.   

For those of you who know John, you know he’s a non-stop outlandish quote factory.  Over the course of the weekend, I was privy to such gems as: “Last night I dreamed that my dog Reese was demonic” and then when we drove past a 50-foot-tall Nestle Quik bunny: “Hey look!  The Nestle plant!  I wonder what I’d have to do to work there.”  Waiting until I fell asleep and then screaming while passing a semi-truck on my side and scaring the daylights out of me was slightly less entertaining.   

Not having to drive at all was great and I really appreciated my personal chauffeur.  Not only was he polite and efficient, but also ridiculously good-looking.  Through the whole weekend, John was there for whatever I needed.  He took me to Kroger the night before the wedding to pick up last-minute cosmetics and even volunteered to let me use his toiletries when I misplaced mine (“I think you’re really gonna like this face wash.”).  Even after the wedding, when all of us in the wedding party were waiting to be announced at the reception, John came to the rescue (with Patrick) and not only carried all of the bridesmaids’ purses, but also returned with some ice cold beverages for the whole party (at least the first 12).   

The trip home didn’t go quite as quickly, partly due to the ingestion of something disagreeable with John’s stomach and several accidents on the freeway that brought all the lanes to a stand-still.  Then there was the chore of finding the perfect position to sleep in the passenger seat, which involved more contortion than the last time I did yoga.    

Even after more than 11 hours confined in the car with my better half and all his lovable antics, I could have spent 11 more.  Seeing someone at their best and worst, sleepiest and crankiest, funniest and weirdest, reminds you of all the reasons why you love them.  It’s not just because they’re nice or easy to get along with or ridiculously good-looking.  Those things help, but when it comes down to it, the reason I love John is because he’s seen me at my best and worst, my sleepiest and crankiest and my funniest and weirdest and he still loves me.  And he doesn’t just love me; he does whatever it takes to give me whatever I need at the moment.   

Everyone who met John for the first time this weekend had the same thing to say to me about him: “He’s a keeper.”  After 11+ hours in the car, a 12:45 a.m. post-wedding trip to Steak and Shake, his rendition of Journey and more Big Daddy Kane than a girl could dream of, I can still say that what I’ve known since we first met is true: John Mark Gordon?  That man’s a keeper.   

Side note: Congratulations to Kirk and Laura Stelsel on being the sweetest, cutest, most fun married couple ever!  We had a blast and a half at your wedding.  I miss your families and friends already.  Can’t wait for the next Indy road trip.   

John and I at the wedding recection. Yep, he's a keeper.

Actions

Information

4 responses

27 04 2010
LT

Yep, he sure is a keeper! I’ll buy ice cream and hot fudge for him forever!
By the way, what would I have to do to work at the Nestle plant? 🙂

29 04 2010
karaw25

I agree, he is a keeper! I’m a big fan because he loves you and takes such good care of you! Love you best friend!

11 05 2010
Grandma Flora Bailey

hi sweetie. sure he’s a keeper. trust you will both coninue to love each other and follow our Lord’s leading all the way. i’m sure we will get to know John better as time goes on. he is sweet to us also. love to you both, Grandma for Grandpa too

5 07 2010
I don’t need pictures to remember… « Vitamin "D"

[…] weather was perfect – warm and sunny – and as you may have heard, road trips with John are always an adventure.  Early in the trip, he was already in rare form – dancing a variation of the robot to the Black […]

Leave a Reply

